Dragon Age Origins ~ This Is War

Well, I did say in the ‘About the Author‘ section that I know for a fact video games can be therapeutic. As a matter of fact, this particular game got me through April 15, 2011 & the days of grieving that followed. The day I woke up to find my 10 year old kitty, Marble, had suddenly passed away while I was sleeping.

I’ve played through Dragon Age Origins: Ultimate Edition twice now on my PS3 & I absolutely love the game! But what really gave me goosebumps was the discovery of an awesome song I’d never heard before it played during the credits while I was kicked back with that odd sense of accomplishment one gets from making it through one of these massive Role Playing Games. Yes, I must confess that I live under a rock for the most part when it comes to newer music & most everyone had probably heard this song long before I did. It usually takes me pretty much tripping over newer music in order for me to notice it anymore, but I wanted to share it anyway. It’s called “This Is War” by 30 Seconds To Mars. I encourage you to watch both versions of the video as they are quite different but equally incredible.

Here’s the Dragon Age Origins Trailer Clip of the song with all the incredible Dragon Age graphics:

Here’s the Full Length Official 30 Seconds To Mars “This Is War” Music Video (Uncensored Version):

Music is poetry & therefore meant to be felt & experienced, not simply heard or read. Poetry can be interpreted in so many ways because each word or phrase will invoke different feelings in each individual person, regardless of even the writer’s intended meaning. It’s that very diversity of thought & emotion that makes this such a powerful & beautiful medium.

So what is my interpretation of this song? Why does it give me goosebumps? Well, despite the first impression of the title, if one pays close attention, I think one may find, as I do, that this is ultimately a song about achieving peace. About the ending of wars. I believe it is saying that peace can only be brought forth by unity, understanding, & the coexistence of all faiths, races, governments, & nations–humanity in its entirety. A brave new world, indeed.

“This Is War” by 30 Seconds To Mars

A warning to the people,
The good and the evil,
This is war.

To the soldier, the civilian,
The martyr, the victim,
This is war.

It’s the moment of truth, and the moment to lie,
The moment to live and the moment to die,
The moment to fight, the moment to fight
To fight, to fight, to fight!

To the right, To the left
We will fight to the death!
To the edge of the earth
It’s a brave new world
From the last to the first

To the right, To the left
We will fight to the death!
To the edge of the earth
It’s a brave new world
It’s a brave new world!

A warning to the prophet,
The liar, the honest,
This is war.

To the leader, the pariah,
The victor, the messiah,
This is war.

It’s the moment of truth, and the moment to lie,
The moment to live and the moment to die,
The moment to fight, the moment to fight,
To fight, to fight, to fight!

To the right, To the left
We will fight to the death!
To the edge of the earth
It’s a brave new world
From the last to the first

To the right, To the left
We will fight to the death!
To the edge of the earth
It’s a brave new world
It’s a brave new world
It’s a brave new world!

I do believe in the light
Raise your hands into the sky
The fight is done, the war is won
Lift your hands toward the sun
Toward the sun
Toward the sun
Toward the sun
The war is won

To the right, To the left
We will fight to the death!
To the edge of the earth
It’s a brave new world
From the last to the first

To the right, To the left
We will fight to the death!
To the edge of the earth
It’s a brave new world
It’s a brave new world
It’s a brave new world!

A brave new world
The war is won
The war is won
A brave new world. . .

Lyrics © 30 Seconds To Mars

What are your thoughts?

